The most beautiful poem

Baby, last night the most amazing thing happened

It came to me as an epiphany

It was the simplest, most eloquent string of words

That created a melody when spoken aloud

It was the most touching and vivifying sentences

Every verse was a curse

Of deeper truths

Or sweeter lies

Every line was a painting

Every rhyme a living emotion

It was so real I could smell it

Like a fresh breeze

On an early spring morning,

But as I reached for my pen

I noticed that you were sleeping

Your head resting on my chest

You looked so peaceful,

And your embrace was so warm

That I stopped and didn’t bother

And all I could remember

Was that when I looked at you

I thought

“wow!”

Leave a Reply

